Turning back the clock..

What might you do differently if you could relive your youth and Villa years?

(First, the editors would have taken credit, in some fashion, for a blog in the future. And anticipated the recent market meltdown)

But Michael Childs, in a e-mail rumination, answered in this fashion:

Ah, if I only could be back there, 40 years ago.  What would I do differently?  What would I do the same?  Looking back, I would definitely have skiied harder and tried to climb more mountains. I would definitely have gone on more dates, if I could get them. I would have joined several of my classmates in the hotels along main street and learned about women earlier then it turned out.  I would have told the seniors to stop beating up the Swiss after getting loaded on Cardinals. 

 

 But I still would have become a Cardinale, and I would have learned how never to become sick drinking alcohol.  I would definitely have treated Mr. Jenerai (spelling?) with more respect.  I would definitely have questioned religion more seriously.  I might have tried to join the band as some kind of back up singer, but I’m sure they would not have wanted anything to do with me.

  I might have tried to find a way to bulldoze Michael Bachman on the soccer field, which would have been impossible.  I would have smoked a cigar in the Boswet library, and I would have told Tom Hanlon to stay out of cars, and Phillipe Echavaria to stop smoking Gauloise.  I still would have listened to the Rolling Stones late at night in the library, and gone to their concert in Bern, and remembered Mick Jagger tossing out a bouquet of roses as he sang Ruby Tuesday.  I would continue to look for wine cellars in the ski chalets, and I probably would have smoked marijuana if I could have found any, but I didn’t even know what to look for.

 I would have tried to be more blunt about some things, and more social about other things, and understood that everyone was just trying to get by in this world.  I would still admire the authenticity of some of my teachers.  They were all sincere in doing what they tried to do.  And in all things I would have remembered how special each day was.  I would have done it again.  Easily.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About villastjean

Villa St. Jean was a Marianist school in Fribourg, Switzerland, from 1903-1970. This blog site is intended as a forum for Villa alumni to share memories, pictures and connections.
This entry was posted in 170.00 Villa, 170.95 Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turning back the clock..

  1. Janaye says:

    Oooh I like that handy advice thanks Krista. Maybe a needle change could help to.Great job Adri, looks like you will be getting loads of use as you intended, do#;n8217&t worry about the bite marks just give the fabric a unique name and say it came off the bolt like that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

